CSIR CCIR CCI CCI Station S

22222

The 52nd Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Memorial Tournament (Outdoor 2nd Zonal) was inaugurated with great fervour today on 13th November 2024 at CSIR-Central Road Research Institute, Mathura Road. This year, CSIR-Central Road Research Institute, Delhi got the honour of hosting the prestigious SSBMT tournament of CSIR which includes Cricket and volleyball.

In memory of the first Director (now re-designated as Director General), Dr. Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar, the tournament was named as the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Memorial Tournament(SSBMT) that enlarged the participation of all CSIR employees spread across the country, it has been commenced from 1953.

This tournament will run for three days, from 14th to 16th November 2024. Eight CSIR laboratories located in different parts of the country are participating in this tournament, which include CSIR-Madras Complex, Chennai; CSIR-4 PI, Bengaluru; CSIR-CLRI, Chennai; CSIR-CEERI, Pilani; CSIR-NGRI, Hyderabad; CSIR-IICT, Hyderabad; CSIR- IMMT, Bhubaneswar and CSIR Headquarters, New Delhi. Dr. L.P. Singh, Director General of the National Council for Cement and Building Materials inaugurated the event as Chief Guest in the presence of Sh. Kiran Pal Rana, Ex International Volleyball Player and Sports Officer Delhi Police as guest of honour, Prof. Manoranjan Parida, Director CSIR-CRRI, Dr. Anuradha Madhukar; Chief Scientist, CSIR HQ, Secretary SPB; Dr. Niraj Sharma, Chief Scientist & Chairperson SSBMT 2024, Smt. Beena A. Sequeira, COA, CSIR-CRRI & (Ex-officio), VP CSIR-CRRI Staff Club, Sh. Santosh Kumar, AO, CSIR-CRRI and Organizing Secretary SSBMT.

During the inauguration, all the participating teams are participated in a flag march all the dignitaries planted trees on the premises of the CRRI campus. The flag march performance was evaluated. CSIR-NGRI team selected as the best flag-marched team and awarded a trophy. Sh. Kiran Pal Rana, Ex-International Volleyball Player and Sports Officer Delhi Police, administered the sports men pledge for all the teams. The programme ended with a vote of thanks.











